Reflection

Video-projected computer program, video camera (form, size and suport variables), 2014.

Events

Reflection is a projected video installation, its title uses the polysemy of the term. First of all, with its video capture system, it visually restores the space in which it is exposed like a mirror. Then, in a second time, it testifies of the path of thoughts which led me to its elaboration, reflections on our conscience of time, on the nature of time.

reflexion-texte-nicolas-lebrun

Reflection consists mainly of a program that captures images in real time for analysis. The program interprets the differences in brightness and cuts the video capture into a number of faces. It places these faces on cubes in a 3D space by placing the brightest cubes in front.

This installation questions our relationship to time, it retransmits video cubes with a delay of about ten seconds. Thus the image of the spectator is first captured by the device before he becomes aware that this capture is retransmitted.

This process of capture in real time and retransmission in deferred time which is a reference to Going Around The Corner by Bruce Nauman or Present Continuous Past(s) by Dan Graham, where the feeling of the duration developed by Bergson in the Creative Evolution (with the example of the sugar which melts in the water) is put in abyss. Indeed, in this book Bergson hypothesizes that objects and things have a duration similar to our inner duration.

 

“Let us relax now, let us interrupt the effort that pushes into the present as much of the past as possible. If the relaxation were complete, there would be neither memory nor will: this means that we never fall into this absolute passivity, nor can we make ourselves absolutely free. But at the limit, we glimpse an existence made of a present which would start again and again, no more real duration, nothing but the instantaneous which dies and is reborn indefinitely. Is this the existence of matter? Not quite, no doubt, because the analysis resolves it into elementary shocks, the shortest of which are of a very weak duration, almost fading, but not null. One can nevertheless presume that the physical existence inclines in this second direction, as the psychic existence in the first.”

– The Creative Evolution Henri Bergson (1907) p122-123

Réflexion

Programme vidéo projeté, caméra USB, dimensions supports et formes variables, 2014.

Évènements:

reflexion-texte-nicolas-lebrun

Réflexion est une installation vidéo projetée, son titre utilise la polysémie du terme. Tout d’abord avec son système de capture vidéo, elle restitue visuellement l’espace dans lequel elle est exposée comme un miroir. Puis, dans un deuxième temps, elle témoigne du cheminement des pensées qui m’ont conduit à son élaboration, des réflexions sur notre conscience du temps, sur la nature du temps.

Réflexion est constituée principalement d’un programme qui capture en temps réel des images pour les analyser. Le programme interprète les écarts de luminosité et découpe la capture vidéo en un certain nombre de faces. Il replace ces faces sur des cubes dans un espace 3D en plaçant les cubes les plus lumineux en avant.

Cette installation interroge notre rapport au temps, elle retransmet des cubes vidéo avec un délai d’une dizaine de secondes. Ainsi l’image du spectateur est d’abord captée par le dispositif avant que celui-ci prenne conscience que cette captation est retransmise.

Ce processus de capture en temps réel et de retransmission en différé qui est une citation de Going Around The Corner de Bruce Nauman ou Present Continuous Past(s) de Dan Graham, où le « sentiment de la durée » développé par Bergson dans l’Évolution Créatrice (avec l’exemple du sucre qui fond dans l’eau) est mis en abîme. En effet dans ce livre Bergson émet l’hypothèse que les objets, les choses ont une durée similaire à notre durée intérieure.

[…] Détendons-nous maintenant, interrompons l’effort qui pousse dans le présent la plus grande partie possible du passé. Si la détente était complète, il n’y aurait plus ni mémoire ni volonté: c’est dire que nous ne tombons jamais dans cette passivité absolue, pas plus que nous ne pouvons nous rendre absolument libres. Mais à la limite, nous entrevoyons une existence faite d’un présent qui recommencerait sans cesse, plus de durée réelle, rien que de l’instantané qui meurt et renaît indéfiniment. Est-ce là l’existence de la matière ? Pas tout à fait, sans doute, car l’analyse la résout en ébranlements élémentaires dont les plus courts sont d’une durée très faible, presque évanouissante, mais non pas nulle. On peut néanmoins présumer que l’existence physique incline dans ce second sens, comme l’existence psychique dans le premier. […]”

– L’Évolution Créatrice Henri Bergson (1907) p122-123