Random Triangle Variation

Interactive installation, program, button and printer, variable size, form and support., 2014.

Events:

Iteration 2015 Nicolas Lebrun

This installation highlights artistic production as a moment. It depict an semi-automated creation process made with random picturiale choices and visitor action. To understand this works, we have to watch this piece, not as a single printed representation but in the whole production and then we can be overcome with randomness, in fact this piece study it.

 

 

Randomness is an unknown number which is set when visitors decide to create a new trace. The thinking of this works, based on protocol, come from Generative Art, and produced various pieces as Random() 2012, (Aperto gallery and 59th Salon de Montrouge), Reflection and Reverberation (created during a residency at Espeyran Castel on 2013).

 

 

With two switches, visitors can join the creative process: the first to create or change a drawing and the second to print it. He can be sponsors (drawings commissioned by him) and the person who hangs the exhibition: once the drawing is printed he have to put it on the wall as he went.

Random Triangle Variation

Installation interactive, programme, boutons et imprimante, dimensions, supports et formes variables, 2014.

Évènements:

Iteration 2015 Nicolas Lebrun

Cette installation a trait  à la production artistique en tant que moment. Elle met en scène un processus de création automatisée où les choix picturaux sont déterminés aléatoirement. Les représentations produites sont à voir dans un ensemble; une série de dessins qui se révèle être une étude de l’aléatoire.

 

Ce dernier est un chiffre inconnu qui se détermine quand le spectateur décide de créer un nouveau tracé. La réflexion, axée sur un protocole de création propre à l’art génératif, n’en est pas à son début puisque Random Triangle Variation vient rejoindre un corpus d’installations récentes comme Random(), (2012, galerie Aperto et 59e Salon de Montrouge) ainsi que Réflexion et Réverbération (issues d’une résidence au château d’Espeyran en 2013).

 

Le spectateur est ici invité à participer à cet acte créateur par le biais de deux interrupteurs: l’un pour créer un nouveau dessin, l’autre pour l’imprimer. Il a donc une place de commanditaire et de monteur d’expositions puisque c’est à lui d’accrocher sur le mur le tracé obtenu. Chaque présentation de l’installation fait l’objet d’une édition, à la fin de chaque exposition, tous les dessins sont récupérés puis reliés pour former un livre.