Chat

Graphite on paper (31 x 41 cm x 9), mono-board computer, local server, website, variable size, 2017.

Events:

This project, which connects pencil drawing and coding, speaks about knowledge, this group of men is constituted of inventors, scientists, philosophers and writers. They represent differents kind of knowledge.

 

The digital side of this works uses the look and features of a chat or instant messaging.

 

The internal function of the chat is corrupted: the different protagonists are not connected right now to the interface. They exist or, in most case, they existed, theirs comments come from archives, then, this chat is not instant, at least, only screen events or animations are directs because these texts existed before the creation of this chat. These messages are chosen by an algorithm to be displayed. This basic artificial intelligence shows us writings of clever persons.

 

 

 

 

How can we imagine the dialogue or at least these exchanges of comments?

 

Firstly, even if a text existed, this exchange between these different authors is less clear, for some of them, whose didn’t live at the same time, we can imagine the exchange as nonmutual, previous text can reach the more recent author but not the other way. That is exactly what this program indicates, so, it depicts a temporal discontinuity, we can imagine the place where authors discuss as a utopia, in the etymological meaning: a non place.
The purpose of this piece is also differents evolutions of the internet, this is a step backward.
Chat is a concept of the web 2.0, the one of social network and interactivity but I used the first version of it, the internet as archive or place to share knowledge, to build a fake chat, a social network parody.

 

 

In fact, there are two thinkings about technologies, two sides on the author list, the first group think, as modernist, that technologies can help the human being to live better, bring wit to everybody, this vision see it as a hope. The second group, see the technologies as a threat, as a way for company and government to spy and control us.

 

 

Access to the chat (only available in french)

Chat

Graphite sur papier (31 x 41 cm x 9), programme, dimensions variable, 2017.

Évènements

Ce projet qui allie dessin au crayon et programmation nous parle de savoir, ce groupe d’hommes est constitué d’inventeurs, de philosophes, et d’écrivains. Il représente différents types de connaissances.

 

Gros plan sur le dispositif numérique (écran et micro-ordianteur)Le volet numérique de ce projet reprend le format d’un chat ou d’une messagerie instantanée à la différence que son fonctionnement est altéré: les différents protagonistes du chat ne sont pas des personnes immédiatement connectées à cette interface. Ils existent ou dans la plupart des cas ont existé, leurs différents commentaires proviennent d’archives. Cette messagerie n’a donc de spontané que l’affichage des commentaires puisque l’existence de ces textes est antérieur à la création de cette messagerie. Ces messages sont donc choisis par un algorithme pour être affiché, une intelligence artificielle basique nous livre les écrits de personnes qui ont œuvré ou qui œuvrent pour la connaissance.
Portraits des protagonistes du chat (Scan)
Comment dans ces conditions peut-on envisager le dialogue ou du moins ces échanges de commentaires ? Tout d’abord, même si le texte a existé, l’échange entre ces différents protagonistes est moins évident, pour certains auteurs n’ayant pas vécu à la même époque, on ne peut l’envisager comme unilatérale, le texte de l’auteur d’une époque antérieur peut parvenir à un autre auteur plus récent, mais pas l’inverse, donc l’échange en tant que tel ne peut pas exister. C’est pourtant ce que suggère ce programme, il met donc en scène, une discontinuité temporelle, ce qui peut rapprocher le lieu de cette discussion d’une utopie, dans le sens étymologique, dans aucun lieu.

 

 

 

Chat @CACN - Internet of me

Sous-jacent à cette question, les différentes évolutions d’internet montrent là aussi un retour en arrière, le web 2.0, celui de l’interaction et des réseaux sociaux, se retrouve parodié par la version traditionnelle d’internet axé sur la distribution d’information.

 

Accéder au chat