Row

42 digital prints (10 x 13cm), variable dimensions, 2020.

This project brings together an open archive accessible from any location and the utopias of the modernists (50-70s). It began with the creation of a catalogue of images describing brutalist architecture. These royalty-free photographs1 were indexed in a file2 which contained several pieces of information relating to the shooting (the author, the place, the name of the image file) and the different contrasts in the files.

 

It is therefore an inventory created in a few days from two online platforms (FlickR and 500px) according to mainly graphic criteria and describing thirty-six buildings in sixteen countries3.
The use of this corpus of images in an artistic project will give rise to two observations, the creation requires other creations, i.e. the medium used, the raw material comes from a previous artistic act. The second consequence is the disintegration of the concept of the author (previously dealt with in Random(), 2013).

 

There is therefore a database that allows access to images that also evoke a grid structure and which in their digital natures read like tables where the colours of each pixel are arranged (the number of pixels per line will be defined by the width of the image and the number of lines by its height).

 

These images have been interpreted by a program that will create friction and break between light and dark pixels. It is a way of confronting the different perceptions that one may have had of this architectural style over time; between the utopian and modernist aspect of providing housing for all and the effect of exclusion of a social class and category of the population. These altered images are meant to be ambivalent, as they also deal with the survival of the modern spirit in the open-source movement.

 

1: Creative commons licensehttps://creativecommons.org/

2: Dataset source file

3: Australia, Canada, Croatia, Denmark, France, Germany, India, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Northern Macedonia, Moldova, Poland, Serbia, Spain, United Kingdom and USA.

Brut

42 impressions numériques (10 x 13cm), dimensions variables, 2020.

Ce projet met en relation une archive ouverte et accessible depuis n’importe quel lieu et les utopies des modernistes (années 50-70). Il a commencé par la création d’un catalogue d’images décrivant l’architecture brutaliste, ces photographies libres de droit1 ont été indexées dans un fichier2 qui contenait plusieurs informations relatives à la prise de vue (l’auteur, le lieu, le nom du fichier image) et aux différents contrastes des fichiers.

 

Il s’agit donc d’un inventaire créé en quelques jours à partir de deux plateformes en ligne (FlickR et 500px) selon des critères principalement graphiques et qui décrivent trente-six bâtiments dans seize pays3.
L’utilisation de ce corpus d’image dans un projet artistique posera donnera lieu à deux constats, la création nécessite d’autres créations, c’est-à-dire que le medium utilisé, la matière première provient d’un précédent acte artistique. La deuxième conséquence c’est le délitement du concept de l’auteur (précédemment traité dans le dispositif Random(), 2013).

 

Il y a donc une base de données qui permet d’accéder à des images qui évoquent également une structure en forme de grille et qui dans leurs natures numériques se lisent comme des tableaux où sont rangés les couleurs de chaque pixel (le nombre de pixels par lignes sera définie par la largeur de l’image et le nombre de lignes par sa hauteur).

 

Ces images ont été interprétées par un programme qui va créer de friction et de rupture entre les pixels clairs et les pixels sombres. C’est une manière de confronter les différentes perceptions que l’on a pu avoir de ce style architecture au cours du temps ; entre l’aspect utopiste et moderniste de fournir un logement à tous et l’effet d’exclusion d’une classe sociale et d’une catégorie de la population. Ces images altérées se veulent ambivalente, car elles traitent aussi de la survie de l’esprit moderne dans le mouvement open-source.

 

1: Licence Creative commons

2: Fichier de dataset

3: Allemagne, Australie, Canada, Croatie, Danemark, Espagne, France, Inde, Irlande, Italie, Lituanie, Macédoine du Nord, Moldavie, Pologne, Royaume-Uni, Serbie et USA