Attractors series

Série des attracteurs

Cyanotype prints (four copies) 24 * 30 cm * 6 variants, variable layout, 2020.

These representations are the result of the use of a mathematical formula discovered by Clifford A. Pickover. The pickover is a practical object inherent in dynamic systems, systems that evolve irreversibly with time (climate, weather, solar system…). Chaos theory is essentially based on this theoretical object that is the attractor. The attractor provides a model for predicting the behaviour of several elements within a system subject to deterministic chaos, i.e. without having a precise knowledge of the initial conditions of the said system, the attractor makes it possible to define the behaviour of a large number of elements.

These are therefore visual representations of the action of an attractor, but this does not determine the behaviour of a large number of particles, but of a single one.
Indeed, to draw a drawing, only one point was placed in the centre of the plan at the start of the programme. The aim is to show how the attractor has determined the position of this point, this particle (from its previous position) a million times.

The differences in the plot shown in the series are due to the variations in the initial conditions from one visualization to the next. These conditions were chosen randomly in previous simulations and their values were recorded according to the plastic or graphic quality of the result obtained and the success of the simulation (it is possible that with certain conditions the point does not move).

There is here a convergence between the approach (specific to generative art) of using a strict protocol of creation and the chaos theory which makes it possible to predict the evolutions of a system. Where the artist observes and interacts with a system, the mathematician predicts how the experiment will end.

The use of the cyanotype as a reproduction procedure aims to integrate into the first experiment a second determinism, this time chemical, which under the action of ultraviolet radiation will give substance to the representation.


Attractors series - close up


Attractors series - close up


Attractors series - close up


Attractors series - close up


Attractors series - close up

Série des attracteurs

Série des attracteurs

Tirages cyanotypes  (à quatres exemplaires) 24 * 30 cm * 6 variantes, disposition variable, 2020.

Ces représentations sont le fruit de l’utilisation d’une formule mathématique découverte par Clifford A. Pickover. L’attracteur est un objet pratique inhérent aux systèmes dynamiques, des systèmes qui évoluent de manière irréversible avec le temps (climat, météo, système solaire…). La théorie du chaos repose essentiellement sur cet objet théorique qu’est l’attracteur. L’attracteur fournit un modèle pour prédire le comportement de plusieurs éléments au sein d’un système soumit à un chaos déterministe, c’est dire que sans avoir une connaissance précise des conditions initiales dudit système, l’attracteur permet de définir le comportement d’un grand nombre d’éléments.

 

Il s’agit donc de représentations visuelles de l’action d’un attracteur mais celle-ci ne détermine pas le comportement d’un grand nombre de particules mais d’une seule.
En effet pour tracer un dessin, un seul point a été placé au centre du plan au démarrage du programme. Il s’agit de montrer comment l’attracteur a déterminé la position de ce point, de cette particule (à partir de sa position précédente) un million de fois.

 

Les différences de tracé que montre la série proviennent des variations des conditions initiales d’une visualisation à l’autre. Ces conditions ont été choisies aléatoirement lors de simulations antérieures et leurs valeurs ont été enregistrées en fonction de la qualité plastique ou graphique du résultat obtenu et de la réussite de la simulation (il est possible qu’avec certaines conditions le point ne se déplace pas).

 

Il y a ici une convergence entre la démarche (propre à l’art génératif) de l’utilisation d’un protocole stricte de création et la théorie du chaos qui permet de prédire les évolutions d’un système. Là où l’artiste observe et interagit avec un système, le mathématicien prédit comment l’expérience terminera.

 

L’usage du cyanotype comme procéder de reproduction vise à un intégrer à la première expérience un second déterminisme, cette fois-ci chimique, qui sous l’action d’un rayonnement ultraviolet donnera corps à la représentation.


Attractors series - close up


Attractors series - close up


Attractors series - close up


Attractors series - close up


Attractors series - close up